United Kingdom

Michael Elliott Award for Excellence in African Storytelling 2021

The International Center for Journalists (ICFJ), ONE, and the Elliott family are providing The Michael Elliott Award for Excellence in African Storytelling, to recognise an emerging journalist in Africa who attempts to strengthen people’s voices and advance their well-being in 2021.

The Michael Elliott Award for Excellence in African Storytelling, a partnership between the International Center for Journalists (ICFJ), the Elliott family, and the ONE Campaign, recognises an emerging journalist in Africa who attempts to strengthen people’s voices and light up the transformational change occurring on the continent. They are looking for a wide range of topics, not restricted to health and social challenges, to establish the creative approaches to pressing challenges in Africa.

As a result of the award’s various donors and the substantial backing of The Economist, ICFJ is happy to announce that in 2021, they are enlarging the contest to recognise two award recipients who published pioneering journalistic work between December 1, 2019 and December 1, 2020.  Applications will be chosen based on the quality of the piece and the influence their work has had in communities. They welcome exceptional submissions in all media, particularly those that display analytical skills in addition to brilliant writing ability.

The Michael Elliott Award was created in honour of Michael Elliott, an exceptional editor, humanitarian, and past ICFJ director, whose life was a testimony to the power of storytelling to substantiate and improve the human condition. Elliott functioned as an esteemed editor at The Economist, Newsweek and Time prior to becoming the CEO of ONE. In 2016, he had spoken of his desire to create an award that would harness his belief in exceptional journalism with his devotion to progress in Africa.

Worth of Award

  • Owing to the present travel restrictions as a result of COVID-19, the 2021 program will happen virtually. ICFJ will make arrangement for a series of around 10 virtual meetings over the duration of the fellowship program, featuring media and professionals from U.S. and U.K. newsrooms and also past Michael Elliott Award recipients. ICFJ will adapt these sessions to the interests of the award recipients.
  • The meetings will comprise meetings with journalists from well-known global outlets, like The Economist, the Washington Post, Al Jazeera and others.
  • The beneficiaries will be invited to participate in a virtual internship with respected media outlets where they will be given access to editorial meetings and media professionals and share their own experiences with renowned journalists.
  • To take complete advantage of the training chances provided, candidates are required to speak English, even if they work in another language. The two 2021 recipients will also obtain a $5,000 cash prize.

Eligibility for Michael Elliott Award

  • The award is available to English-speaking journalists operational in Africa for print, broadcast and online news media. Candidates should have at most 10 years of journalism experience.
  • Candidates have to submit one published material that embodies Africa through thoughtful reporting and exceptional storytelling.
  • They are seeking impactful analytical or explanatory pieces, particularly those that shed light on transformational change in Africa.
  • A copy of the published piece or broadcast clip has to be submitted in English. Works in other languages have to contain English translations. Submissions from print, broadcast or digital journalists are welcome. Multimedia submissions may comprise audio, web, video, visual or mixed media.
  • The submitted piece has to be published between December 1, 2019, and December 1, 2020.

A renowned international jury comprised of media leaders from the UK, US, and Africa will choose the winners.

They will reach out to all candidates to inform them of their status by the spring of 2021.

How to Apply for Michael Elliott Award

The application is done online through their website. Please make use the link below.

Application Deadline

Submit your application by Sunday, January 17, 2021 (11:59 EST).

Click here for more details and to apply

Not interested in this particular scholarship? See other scholarships here

Related Articles

Back to top button